Head Mares Sea VU Dry Snorkel Mask Visitor Review

by SH
(Florida)

My husband and I tried the Head Mares Sea VU Dry Snorkel masks and we wanted to leave our review. While they are quality made and had some definite benefits, we also experienced every disadvantage described on your review page.

My husband couldn't stand the feeling of re-breathing his own air - felt stuffy and unpleasant.

I knew before buying that I couldn't dive down, but didn't think I'd miss it as much as I did.

The mask also felt big and cumbersome on. It's so much easier to just remove the snorkel when speaking to someone out of the water versus having to remove entire face mask every time. And of course, the more you mess with taking the mask off and on repeatedly, the greater the chance of leakage.

I did like the lack of fogging, as I'm struggling with that right now, having bought a prescription mask that continues to fog no matter how many times I scrub with toothpaste, use baby shampoo, spit, etc. It is driving me nuts!

I also liked the built-in dry snorkel. It worked well. On the Mares full face snorkel mask, it was very difficult to attach and detach each time - they recommend doing so before/after each use. So hopefully they tweak that feature on a future version.

Comments for Head Mares Sea VU Dry Snorkel Mask Visitor Review

Click here to add your own comments

Aug 07, 2016
Thank You!
by: Nicole & Galen

Hi SH, thank you for sharing your review of the Mares Head Sea VU Dry full face snorkel mask with us. I am sure our readers will find it a valuable addition to our full face mask review page.

About your prescription regular mask fogging problem, go to a dive shop and have it burned. We learned about this on our recent Maldives trip. Apparently some glass is manufactured with a coating that must be literally burned off so that the glass can actually be cleaned enough to defog.

Hope that helps. And thanks again!

Aug 08, 2016
Burning Your Mask
by: Debbieo

Hello SH, I have had two masks burned with success. The first was by someone that had burned many masks. My second mask was burned by my husband here at our home. He looked at videos on YouTube. I left the room LOL. But all went well.

My mask was easy to keep fog free with heavy applications of baby shampoo. Sometimes, I got it in my mouth - Yuck - or up my nose - it burned for a second, but with the burning, fogging became a minimal occurrence. Be brave!!

Sep 10, 2016
Prescription Mask Fog
by: Lu Ann

When I first got my mask which had my prescription lenses in them, I fought and fought with them. This past snorkel trip to Bonaire, the guide on our boat "flamed" them, and I didn't have any more trouble.

Sep 12, 2016
Thanks For The Tips
by: SH

Thanks to everyone for suggesting burning. I tried taking them to a local dive shop and asking them if they did it for a fee, but the guys said, "prescription lenses don't have that film... you shouldn't burn them." So he wouldn't do it. I guess I'm going to have to be brave and try myself with a YouTube video! Yikes.

Jan 02, 2017
Head Sea Vu Dry Review
by: Larry

Received one for Christmas and my first snorkel in the pool was amazing.

After that I had a problem with leakage but I do have a larger beard. I am not giving up because of the view; I will keep trying. The leakage is really uncomfortable because first it cuts off breathing through my mouth (like you are drowning) then quickly it fills the whole mask. Thinking about it now it seems like it happened sooner when I started breathing through my mouth.

Lastly you cannot tighten the straps up. They do come loose and I hope I can find replacements.

Jan 21, 2017
Love This Mask!
by: Donna M.

I have used a two piece snorkeling set and have to say I will never go back after using a full face mask. I had a great experience with this mask and so did my husband who used it as a non-swimmer during his first time in deep water.

With the full mask, it was more comfortable since I didn't have to bite down hard on the mouth piece or have to think about breathing through my mouth. I also loved the fact that my face kept dry and that my husband and I could talk while snorkeling. We had many people asking about the mask because they noticed the length of time we snorkeled with ease.

Jan 23, 2017
Shaved My Beard, Now Works Great!
by: Larry

Back again because I shaved off a few pounds of beard and now that I have, be sure I love my mask, no leakage and can snorkel forever. If you like to snorkel and shallow dive, buy one, you will love it.

Aug 08, 2017
Head Sea Vu Full Mask
by: JZ

I was excited to try this mask, though after using it once I also encountered all of the cons mentioned in this website's review. One other thing I wasn't anticipating was the claustrophobic feeling I had most of the time.

I had snorkeled just once before, the traditional way, and didn't have a problem, adapted very quickly, though I was in calm water and hadn't attempted to dive down.

In the Head Full Face Mask, when the dry snorkel closed due to moderate waves over the top I panicked as didn't know it was coming my air was shut off (no time to hold my breath). Luckily I could touch my feet down to immediately pull the very suctioned mask off of my face with both hands.

Because of that feeling I am going to sell mine (I won't be getting a dry snorkel again even with the just eye mask unless you have any tips to overcome this?).

It was also too hot (it's summer in FL) and I couldn't breathe very well, much less swim with even a little exertion. I realized how much I value breathing!

For anyone claustrophobic, you may want to reconsider before buying.

Aug 08, 2017
Dry Snorkels
by: Nicole & Galen

Hi JZ, a dry snorkel is a nice thing for surface snorkelers in rougher water as you don't have to worry about getting a mouthful of water if a wave comes over the end of your snorkel. It can be disconcerting at first, but you get used to what you need to do to open it back up and breathe. Often you turn your head too far and dip the snorkel in the water which closes it. So, you just bring it back to vertical and it opens right back up.

If you choose a semi-dry snorkel or a normal snorkel, be aware that you need to be able to forcefully blow out the water that has gotten in if a wave comes over your snorkel. It is not a big deal, but another skill to learn.

We recommend specific dry snorkels and semi-dry snorkels on our snorkel page.

Good luck!

Click here to add your own comments

Ask your question or share a story! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Snorkeling Equipment Stories and Q&A.

Like

Follow






[?]Get Our RSS Feed
  • XML RSS
Read more about Galen & Nicole